Scholarships and Awards

Mary T. Hamner Endowed Scholarship:

Mary T. Hamner was a graduate of the University of Alabama and long term resident of Tuscaloosa. She taught high school for almost 40 years. Ms. Hamner received services for hearing loss through the Speech and Hearing Center form 1988 until she passed away in 1999, leaving a portion of her estate to the Speech and Hearing Center. In her memory the Mary T. Hamner Award was established to provide an annual merit scholarship to an outstanding Undergraduate (junior) and Graduate student majoring in Communicative Disorders.

2016 Undergraduate Recipients: Ciara Cooley and Caroline Faulk

2016 Graduate Recipients: Tess Tarrillion and Tara C. Sidlovsky

Joe T. McCrary Endowed Scholarship:

The Joe T. McCrary Endowed Scholarship was established in 2005 in memory of Joe McCrary, spouse of University of Alabama Speech and Hearing Center clinical supervisor, Debra McCrary. It is given each year to the outstanding senior in communicative disorders. The recipient is chosen by the academic and clinical faculty of the Department of Communicative Disorders.

2016 Recipient: Danielle Sahud

Edward Ervin Guy Jr. Endowed Scholarship in Communicative Disorders:

Edward E. Guy, Jr. was a client of the University of Alabama Speech and Hearing Center during his childhood and early teens.  Mr. Guy, deaf since the age of three, received outstanding guidance, education and therapy from an audiologist, Rebecca Brooks, during his time with the Speech and Hearing Center.  The scholarship is a way to give to back for the outstanding, life changing support brought about by dedicated professionals at the University of Alabama who help people with hearing, speech and language disorders.  Mr. Guy works at the University of Alabama as an administrative assistant to Dr. John Schmitt, Associate Dean of the Graduate School.  The Award is to provide an annual merit scholarship to an outstanding Undergraduate and an outstanding Graduate student in Communicative Disorders.  This award was established in 2014.

2016 Undergraduate Recipient: Kelsey Proudfoot

2016 Graduate Recipient: Alvetta Jones

SHAA Award:

SHAA is the Speech and Hearing Association of Alabama. Each year they give an award to a student that recognizes all around and professional performance. This award is given to a graduate student each year.

2016 Recipient: Audrey Wood


University of Alabama Graduate Fellowships:

Graduate Council Fellowship

2010 Recipients: Rebecca Paxton and Emily Woods

National Alumni Association Fellowship:

2010 Recipient: Elizabeth Hughes

McNair Fellowship:

2011 Recipient: Mya McGee

2010 Recipient: Ivy Porter

Dean’s Merit Assistantship:

2010 Recipient: Sara Saldana